About John Bellairs

John BellairsJohn Anthony Bellairs (1938-1991) is the author of the fifteen acclaimed Gothic mystery novels in the Lewis Barnavelt, Anthony Monday, and Johnny Dixon series, including The House with a Clock in Its Walls (1973), The Treasure of Alpheus Winterborn (1978), and The Curse of the Blue Figurine (1983). Many of his books were illustrated by prominent artist-illustrator Edward Gorey.

Bellairs was born in Marshall, Michigan, earned degrees from Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, taught at various Midwestern and New England colleges, and later lived and wrote in Haverhill, Massachusetts.


The House with a Clock in its Walls (2018)

"House" Opens in 2018

The House with a Clock in its Walls is an upcoming American film written by Eric Kripke and directed by Eli Roth. The film is scheduled for release on September 21, 2018.

News | CompleatBellairs Wiki

Events: Interview with Pricilla Bellairs | Openng Weekend in Marshall


50 Years of The Pedant and the Shuffly

Wanna Play? Pedant at Fifty

Celebrate logic and linen napkins as John Bellairs's second book, The Pedant and the Shuffly, turns fifty years old in 2018.